The Book of Haps

Recently I’ve been getting my knit on thanks the Kate Davies’ Book of Haps.

  
A Hap is a shawl traditionally worn by women working on the Scottish Islands.

The book is fascinating and as well as the 13 modern designs based on traditional styles it also provides a concise history of the hap. Love the photographs Kate has found of people on the islands knitting, stretching them as well as wearing them.

I was drawn to the Happenstance Hap by Romi Hill which reminded me of a butterfly and looked like it would keep me warm in winter.

It was a fairly easy knit, although I did have to frog the lace border a couple of times before I was happy with it.

The Happenstance Hap was also so cosy as I took a bracing stroll along St Andrew’s West Sands.   

   

More knits to come…😘

Leave a Reply

