playing with variegated embroidery floss

1-IMG_2854

If you read my last post you’ll know I went down to Newcastle to see my friend’s summer exhibition and if you haven’t read it have a wee read after this post.

Anyway, I wanted to make Helen a wee congratulations card and knowing her love of colour I decided to break out my Sublime Stitching variegated embroidery floss. The pack is called Taffy Pull and comes with seven different skeins, I decided to use all bar the licorice as I wanted it to be vibrant. By using wedding silk and 150mg handmade paper (sadly not made by me) as the base and stitched using three of my favourite stitches, fern stitch, bullion knots and of course french knots I managed to get a lot of texture into it as well.

1-IMG_2855 1-IMG_2856 1-IMG_2857 1-IMG_2859 1-IMG_2862

The hexagon was placed at the bottom left of the A5 sheet of paper and although I didn’t get a picture of the whole piece I’m pretty chuffed with how it turned out.

Leave a Reply

