Jack & Victor migrate to Tobermory

20120611-235704.jpg

Here are Jack and Victor the Arctic Terns I knitted for the Bird Yarns project. They were so much fun to make and I can’t wait to see them in position on Tobermory Pier (18-24 June 2012) and at the Dovecote Studios in Edinburgh during the Edinburgh Festival.

I blogged about this project earlier this month and then set up a meeting with other knitters who wanted to be part of the project. Deirdre Nelson sent me a bundle of lovely wool from Ardalanish Isle of Mull Weavers which was lovely to work with.

20120612-000228.jpg

20120612-000336.jpg

We went to Stereo in Glasgow and over some food and beer the birds started to take shape. I also gave one of my colleagues a kit for her birthday and she had great fun making Terry the Tern.

A BIG thanks has to go to Judy Van Button who helped me to fashion the legs from wire and crocheted red wool. I’m sure from the pictures you’ll know which one she made – haha.

20120612-001234.jpg

20120612-001329.jpg

If you’re in Tobermory and see the flock which are flying in from all over the world I’d love to see your pictures. I know Deirdre Nelson would love them too.

Cape Farewell are working with over 30 artists and scientists of which Bird Yarns is just one project.

20120612-002035.jpg

4 responses to “Jack & Victor migrate to Tobermory

  1. They look so cool!

  2. Thanks for giving Terry Tern a mention, Julie, I hope he’s happy in Tobermory and nobody’s making fun of his big feet!

  3. Pingback: Bird Yarns fly into Glasgow | Frayed at the Edges

Leave a Reply

