Beating the January Blues

Ah January! That dark month where, as I type it’s a mix of rain and sleet that’s hitting my windows. I often lose my creative mojo in January so this year I’ve been trying some new things in the hope it’ll inspire me for new projects.

20120126-150647.jpg

The first was making jewellery which I’ve never tried before. My sister and her family gave me a voucher for a Swarovski crystal jewellery workshop at Ninvai on Hope Street, Glasgow.

It was the last day of my Christmas holidays and I wanted to make it a fun day. By coincidence Nadine who takes the class (& is also a reiki master) was downstairs which meant I didn’t have to find her room.

On her table was a wonderful array of beads and while she talked me through the morning I picked out the beads I wanted. Several mugs of tea, a cupcake and a lot of concentration on my part I had a set of necklace, bracelet and earrings to take home and wear with pride.

20120126-160112.jpg

20120128-012151.jpg

As it’s also the time of year to get cosy I thought I’d give circular knitting a go. In the past it’s always baffled me but with an hours tuition form Ashley at Make It Glasgow I’ve started to crack it and I’m almost finished making a small cowl.

I’ve also been getting on with my drop spinning. I’ve now made my first skein of wool which I just need to set then it’s ready to knit.

20120128-012706.jpg

2 responses to “Beating the January Blues

  1. You have been SO busy! It’s all looking fab, you talented lady 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

