The Christmas Curiosity Box

As you know I took part in the first Curiosity Project, well I had so much fun with it I decided to take part in their Christmas Project.

To recap the idea is to fill a box with goodies up to the value of £25 and send it to an unnamed person. This time we were told their sex and given a wee blurb about them. My recipient told me that she is ” a photographer, love all things photography, anything vintage, and Christmas is my most favourite time of the year”. Perfect!

I set about collecting some items I thought she’d like

20111218-185206.jpg
The box I sent included:
• a disposable camera that I challenged her to use once or twice a day over the Christmas holidays. I thought it would be fun for her to go old school and have to wait to see the results;
• a wee photo album that I covered with fab fabric from Spoonflower. It was touch & go whether the fabric would arrive on time;
A red wooden candleholder and glass Christmas tree decoration with Santa on in from Glasgow Royal Concert Hall’s shop;
• an egg cup (that looks a bit like me – haha) & wooden decoration from Pierre et Coco; and last but definitely one of my favourite finds
• a print of retro cameras by Lola’s Room which should inspire her to keep taking photos.
Fingers crossed she likes them.

This time it wasn’t a direct swap and I’d just said I lived in the city but dream of the sea, love handmade and also vintage. Here’s how my curious friend interpreted it:
– A Very She & Him Christmas ~ I’ve been secretly thinking if buying this so very happy
– Scoop: the Little Handbook of Traditional Ice Cream Recipes ~ please let it be summer soon!
– a gorgeous handmade brooch
– an egg cup with seaside scenes on it
– a fridge magnet of deck-chairs possibly on Brighton beach
– a handmade polybag holder ~ something I definitely need
– two wee picture frames ~ think I might put some embroidery work in them
– domino set ~ will play this with my nephew
– bath gloves and a colour changing scrubby ~ showering just got fun!
– a fabulous card of a cheeky wee couple kissing on Brighton beach with the pier in the background
– mini paper bunting recycled from cards ~ think that will stay up all year round
And I loved the pinecones and dried peppers my curious friend added too.

I feel really blessed and will leave you with some pictures and wish you a very Happy Christmas!

20111219-214857.jpg

20111219-214935.jpg

20111219-215027.jpg

20111219-215056.jpg

Leave a Reply

