The Fish Exchange

20110904-204534.jpg

That crafty Tracey Gaughan has done it again and found another interesting project for me.

The Fish Project was started by Deirdre Nelson when she took up an artist residency in 2007 in Uist. Here’s her blog entry explaining how it all began.

I thought I’d try to sew a fish and used some excess silk I have along with a tweed backing. Once sewn together I think it looks more like a shark, ah well.

20110904-204812.jpg

So that made me knit one which is definitely more fish shaped. I’ve also blinged it up with some sparkly thread to give it the appearance of the herring.

20110904-204633.jpg

This pair are currently swimming north to Portree.

If you fancy taking part in the next Fish Exchange or just see what they’re up to there’s a link to their Facebook.

Poor Mogwai wants me to make more.

20110904-205016.jpg

Leave a Reply

