shop handmade this Christmas

With Christmas fast approaching and temperatures rising when you go shopping in your local department stores I thought I’d show you some of my recent buys. This time all are from crafters working in the UK but most towns and cities around the world have fairs, markets and even pop-up stores so there is nothing to stop you seeking them out.

Fairs and markets are a lovely way to meet the maker of the items (we enjoy talking esp when it’s about out makes) and most crafters will happily take orders on the day if you want something bespoke. At a recent fair I bought some gorgeous earrings from Sparklypompom (http://www.sparklypompom.co.uk). I’ve had stalls at fairs with Gayle in the past and when she says sparkly she means it!

A lot of crafters have their own websites where you can pick up some lovely bargains and have a look at their blogs to find out what they’re up to along with any competitions they might be running.

I recently bought a funky brooch from Plastic Bat (http://www.plasticbat.co.uk) which is part of a new range. It’s bright yellow acrylic edging just makes me smile on these cold winter days. Tracy’s work is always fun and just that little bit different.

Last but certainly not least are sites that host lots of shops such as Folksy, MISI and ETSY. Here you can browse away an afternoon and find anything and everything you might possibly just have to have! The items have to be made by the seller and are either bespoke or limited runs. I’ve never had a problem doing this and find the sellers will tell you when they’ve dispatched your item.

copyright Kate Bowles

The two following items I bought are gorgeous.

I stumbled over Kate Bowles shop (http://www.folksy.com/shops/KateBowles) but immediately knew I “needed” one of her hand bound books. The little leather-bound book is tiny, really well crafted and so tactile. I know I can work on a really small-scale but this is amazing.

copyright Gill Pottle

I also have to take my hat off to Gill of Aeris Designs (http://www.folksy.com/shops/Aeris) who went to college to get her jewellery making kit in all that bad weather just to hammer the silver bangle for me. It’s so light & shiny that I could be tempted to buy some more.

One wee plea is please leave feedback. It’s the main way we know you are happy with the item you got and also lets other buyers see satisfaction levels. Ok I’ll stop the sermon on feedback but I hope you will consider buying handmade (or even local) this Christmas.

With one weekend of shopping left until Christmas have a happy handmade shopping time.

One response to “shop handmade this Christmas

  1. You give such great reviews for your co-crafters!
    I agree with you on feedback. It is vital!
    When I started selling on Etsy, I was pleased with how sweet and polite every one was (so different that the freak show you sometimes see on eBay). I was surprised to find that many buyers and sellers were so poor about leaving the feedback.

Leave a Reply

