Hand crafted heaven

In a occassional series I’d like to show you some items I’ve bought from crafters and makers outside of Scotland.

Every month I like to treat myself if money permits and what better than buying something I know has been made with time, patience and of course  lot of love.

Alleluja http://www.etsy.com/shop/alleluja

When I found this site I immediately had to buy one. The package came in the beautiful but curious Japanese style of packaging called Furoshiki

And then I opened it to find a tiny, ceramic, cat pincushion. I picked a green/cream cat with hand felted tummy which comes on a hemp cord that you can wear round your neck. He’s only a couple of inches long but so perfect.

Buttercup Boutique http://www.folksy.com/shops/buttercupboutique

I know I make brooches but when I stumbled across this on Folksy I couldn’t resist.

It is so pretty and the detail is amazing. I love the different textures and stitching/beading as well as the colours.

Aeris Designs http://www.folksy.com/shops/Aeris

I needed some earrings (you know how it is girls) to go with a necklace I have and flicked through Folksy until I found these long lovelies.

They are very delicate and the honeycomb style beadwork is lovely. I enjoy beading but not sure I’ve got the patience to actually do this.

Karen Ruane http://www.etsy.com/shop/contemporarystitches

I’ve mentioned Karen’s work before and now I’m pleased to say I know own some. I bought a small cushion which I know I’ll never use but keep out the sunlight and enjoy looking at.

The skill that goes into her work is astounding and is only something I can dream about.

And while I was buying this I saw some fun puffs Karen had made. They are only about a centimetre in circumference and covered in french knots. I’m not sure how I’ll use them but when I do I’ll let you know.

4 responses to “Hand crafted heaven

  1. Hi there, thanks so much for these lovely words about my work, I really do appreciate them and am so pleased you are happy with the things you bought, Karen

  2. Hi Jules,
    Thanks for the mention, I’m really pleased you liked the earrings. I’m off to find out how to follow your blog now 🙂

  3. Hello Jules,
    Thank you for featuring my work and the link to my shop. I appreciate your lovely compliment. Thanks so much 🙂

  4. Pingback: Book review : Embroidery by Karen Ruane | Frayed at the Edges

Leave a Reply

