What Does Home Mean to You?

Recently I was contacted by the Scottish Refugee Council  who asked if I would like to raise awareness of Refugee Week 2009. As I have just started this new blog I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to help them. It is also a lovely way of taking time out of my hectic life and appreciating one of the most important aspects of it.

The rules are quite simple:

  1. Title your blog “What Does Home Mean to You?”
  2. Think about what home means to you. Post three photos which represent “home” to you and write a little about each one.
  3. Include a link to the Refugee Week website: http://www.refugeeweek.org.uk
  4. Tag five others to do the same. That’s it.

Refugee Week runs between 15-21 June throughout the UK and aims to raise awareness of refugees’ contributions to our society through a wide range of cultural and educational programmes.  http://www.refugeeweek.org.uk/inyourarea/Scotland

 What does home mean to me?

Rabbie Burns on Glasgow City Chambers

Rabbie Burns on Glasgow City Chambers

When I thought about home my first thoughts were of somewhere I felt safe and happy to be myself. I know that might sound corny but that was my first thought. It’s not bricks & mortar as anyone who knows me will tell you I can make myself at home anywhere.

My family and friends are amazing and have seen me through the good and the bad times. As a family we still try to get together on a Sunday and have a family dinner (cheers mum) which normally involves a lot of banter, laughter and catching up with each other.

On the West Sands, St Andrews with friends

On the West Sands, St Andrews with friends

I love travelling and meeting people but coming back to Scotland is always special. I enjoyed living in the Midlands for about 10 years but when I got itchy feet I gave a lot of thought to where I might like to live and as the saying goes east west home is best.

Living in the city I enjoy all that it has to offer but go half an hour in an direction I can be in the countryside, up a the mountain or at the beach. Walking along the sands, dipping my toes in the sea with the wind whipping around me makes me feel alive. Believe me when I say you don’t know the true meaning of windswept until you’ve walked along the beach at St Andrews in the autumn! But this whole country is home to me. 

Mogwai helping me cut out material

Mogwai helping me cut out material

And yes, another corny statement but my cat reminds me of home…well how many crafters out there don’t have a cat or dog? To be honest I’m struggling to write this as Mogwai is lying on my lap making his presence felt.

We’ve been together for nine years this month and he’s a rescue cat from my time in Coventry. He’s a house cat and is prince of all he surveys. He knows my routine, is always there to welcome me home and I can’t think of my home without him.

So,that’s three things that remind me of home. What about you? I hope you take up this this lovely challenge and if you do please let me and Scottish Refugee Council. We’d love to hear what reminds you of home.

                                                                                                  

I tag

Jacki Clark  http://jackiclark.wordpress.com

Al Cook  http://alancook.wordpress.com

acuPUNKture Design http://www.thesecondmagpie.wordpress.com

my other blog http://albagirl.wordpress.com

 

2 responses to “What Does Home Mean to You?

  1. Ah, where would be without our kitty helpers? Probably finished a lot sooner with 100% less paw prints. But gotta love their little cold noses, even if they must stick them into absolutely everything.

    Can you add these pics to the flickr pools pls?
    http://www.flickr.com/groups/refugeeweekhome

    Cheers!
    Lorna x

  2. craftyfrayededges

    Have added my pics to http://www.flickr.com/groups/refugeeweekhome
    Go and have a look at what home means to other bloggers.

Leave a Reply

