A day in the life: 3rd July 2012

This day in the life comes at a new chapter in my life…unemployment! However I’m keeping my fingers crossed it’s a very short chapter. I got these flowers from my colleagues when I left and my flat smells wonderful.

20120704-014748.jpg

This means I’m still trying to structure my day while revelling in the fact I can MAKE all day. So, here’s my day…

Up early-ish, well 9am and remembered I’d forgotten to switch the heating off at my parent’s house yesterday (sorry folks). So as the rain had stopped I thought I’d walk there and back.

20120703-232949.jpg

20120703-233315.jpg

20120704-224619.jpg

20120704-002822.jpg

20120704-003007.jpg

On my way home I did a wee bit of window-shopping in Shawlands and picked up some cheap yarn for the yarnbombing project I’m involved with for the Olympics.

I also couldn’t resist popping in to see Sumeera at Gold Thimble. I know they say you shouldn’t mix business with pleasure but with beautiful stock hidden in the nooks & crannies of her shop how could I resist. Threads bought and a crafty event organised I headed home for lunch.

20120703-234124.jpg

20120704-185247.jpg

After a cuppa tea and a quick bite to eat I set about making some parts for the bunting I’m making. How d’u fancy a bunting with balls in them instead of triangles? Or embroidered hankies? Well that’s some of the treats I’m working on.

20120704-002620.jpg

Evening saw me turn on the computer and start to catch up on some emails, start a job application form, read some bizarre blog posts and write a blog piece for the Glasgow Craft Mafia which will be live soon.

I also ordered some Mountmellick thread for a large textile piece I’m preparing to make. I know I’m known for colour but I love whitework and having been learning some new embroidery stitches specific to Mountmellick.

My neighbour then called me in a wee panic. She’s housebound and her tv had switched off but she couldn’t get to it. So an emergency trip downstairs, tv fixed and a wee chat with her and all’s right with the world.

That put a stop to my flow on the computer so I started crocheting a Columbian flag until I realised I’d no blue wool…tragedy! My day ended with a search of flags with gold in them. Happily now it will become a German flag.

20120704-200053.jpg

This blog post is part of A Day in the Life series which is co-ordinated by Mooosh. Have a look at her blog to see what everyone else got up to.

2 responses to “A day in the life: 3rd July 2012

  1. Hi julie, I’m back in Glasgow tomorrow, and can’t believe you lot won’t be in SRC when I get there. A friend visited me who is cycling through Scotland, she’ll be stopping in Tobermory so I asked her to look out for Terry. She might e-mail me a photo if she can work out how. You need to get the application forms completed, I’ve got one I need to work on, you’ve got to be init to winI I

  2. Pingback: 3rd July 2012 « Making * Living * Doing

Leave a Reply

